Skip to content

First Circular (June 05, 2016)


The 5th International Entomophagous Insects Conference
October 16-20, 2017; Kyoto, Japan


The organizing committee is pleased to announce that the fifth International Entomophagous Insects Conference (IEIC5) will be held in Kyoto, Japan, from October 16 to 20, 2017. This conference was born from the merging of two previous workshops, the International Entomophagous Insects Workshop and the European Parasitoid Workshop. The IEIC has since being held biennially, with the first meeting taking place in Minneapolis, USA, in 2009, the second in Antibes, France, in 2011, the third in Orford, Qu├ębec, Canada, in 2013, the fourth in Torre del Mar, Spain, in 2015. IEIC5 is the first meeting held in Asia.

IEIC5 will cover both fundamental and applied topics related to arthropod natural enemies and range from genetics to landscape. Researchers with common scientific interest will be able to meet and exchange up-to-date information. The tentative topics of sessions during conference will be 1) Behavioral Ecology, 2) Chemical Ecology, 3) Systematics and Taxonomy, 4) Evolution, Genetics and Physiology, 5) Biological Control, 6) Population, Community and Landscape Ecology. One or two theme sessions will be organized per day. Invited speakers will present an overview on each theme, but most of the scientific session will be devoted to submitted oral presentations and posters.

In Kyoto, the conference venue will be "Miyakomesse", which is located in Okazaki Koen Park at Higashiyama area with a lot of cultural and historical points. You can visit Heian Jingu Shrine, City Zoo, and Museums within 5 minutes' walk. Detailed information on transportation, important dates, registration fees, and other available hotels nearby the conference venue, will be provided in future circulars and on the website ( ) updates.

We are looking forward to your participation. Feel free to contact us ( ) if you have any questions.

Hoping to see you in October 2017,

The organizing committee: email:

President: Eizi YANO (Kindai Univ.)
Treasurer: Junichiro ABE (WARC/NARO)
Secretary: Norihide HINOMOTO (CARC/NARO)
Committee Members: Yooichi KAINOH (Tsukuba Univ.)
Junji TAKABAYASHI (Kyoto Univ.)
Keiji TAKASU (Kyushu Univ.)
Yoshitaka NAKASHIMA (Kyoto Univ.)